Each yoga posture or position is an asana which translated from its ancient Sanskrit means 'sitting down'. In the Yoga Sutras, Patanjali defines "asana" as "to be seated in a position that is firm, but relaxed". Asanas were postures developed to help individuals sit comfortably in order to cultivate awareness, relaxation and concentration to meditate.

Yoga first originated in India. Asanas are the third of the eight limbs of classical, or Raja Yoga. They are the physical movements of yoga practice in combination with breathing techniques (pranayama).

04.24.2017 - Appledown Iyengar Yoga Studio00767.jpg

Virabhadrasana II

Warrior  II pose

04.24.2017 - Appledown Iyengar Yoga Studio00737.jpg

Utthita Hasta Padangusthasana

Extended hand-to-toe pose 

3 04.24.2017 - Appledown Iyengar Yoga Studio00744.jpg

Parivrtta Trikonasana

Revolved triangle pose


Prasarita Padottanasana

Wide legged forward bend pose


Salamba Sirsasana

Supported headstand pose


Urdhva Mukha Paschimottanasana

Upward-facing intense west stretch pose



Camel pose


Ardha Matsyendrasana II

Half lord of the fishes II pose



Lotus pose